chat loading...
Skip to Main Content

How Do I...?

A guide to help you get started with library research.

To get started with your research, Use the Discovery Tool to search all the library's catalog and databases in one search box and results list. Find books, ebooks, journal articles, streaming videos, DVDs, and more.

The Discovery Tool does not offer as many filters for deep research so is a good starting place before searching in more specific databases.

EBSCO Discovery Service

The library has a great collection of ebooks both for academic and pleasure reading. The full list of ebook collections is available here.

 

To search for physical items in the library's collection (books, DVDs, etc.), search directly in the library's catalog here. 

Database Tutorials

To do deeper research for articles, search in individual databases. Each database has a specific focus and collection of sources.

 Databases 

Search the library's databases to find journal articles. These are some of our most popular. A full listing of all the library's databases is available here: https://methodistcol.libguides.com/az.php

 

Name of Database

Best Used For…

Academic Search Ultimate

Any topic. Interdisciplinary.

Biography in Context

Biography

Business Source Elite

Business, management, and economics

CINAHL Complete

Healthcare/Health Sciences

ClinicalKey for Nursing

Healthcare/Health Sciences

Cochrane Library

Healthcare/Health Sciences. Especially systematic reviews, controlled trials, and methodologies.

Credo Reference

Background information for any topic

Emcare

Healthcare/Health Sciences

Films on Demand

Streaming media any topic

General Science Full Text

Science including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environment, genetics, physics, and zoology

Humanities International Complete

Humanities including language, literature, philosophy, history, religion, art, law, politics, and human geography

Journals@Ovid

Healthcare/Health Sciences

Medline

(or use Medlineplus.gov )

Healthcare/Health Sciences

Newspaper Source

Local, national, and international news

Nursing Reference Center Plus

Healthcare/Health Sciences

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Pro/Con topics

PsycInfo

Psychology, Social Sciences, and Allied Fields

PubMed

Healthcare/Health Sciences

Science in Context

Science, Biology

Social Work Online

Social Work 

Social Work Reference Center

Social Work

Test and Career Prep: Education and Career Center

Help with resumes, practice tests, searching for national scholarships, etc. 

Use tutorials found on the Library User's Guide to help you get started with searching for articles in databases.

Discovery Tool

Use the Discovery Tool to search all the databases in one search box and results list.