LibGuides: Mental Health Nursing: Articles

Articles are an excellent source for

Current information and news
Commentary and opinion
general and/or specific information
Scholarly research

Each article type has its strengths and weaknesses depending on your information need.

Library databases like when you search with keywords but subject terms are an even better search. Subject terms are the way libraries tag their sources so that like item can be collected together. There are two main subject heading styles for nursing and medicine: MeSH and CINAHL.

The term used for mental health nursing in MeSH and CINAHL is "Psychiatric Nursing"

The Methodist College Library has online access to hundreds of ejournals focused on mental health.

To get started with your research, Use the Discovery Tool to search all the library's catalog and databases in one search box and results list. Find books, ebooks, journal articles, streaming videos, DVDs, and more.

The Discovery Tool does not offer as many filters for deep research so is a good starting place before searching in more specific databases.

The library has a great collection of ebooks both for academic and pleasure reading. The full list of ebook collections is available here.

To search for physical items in the library's collection (books, DVDs, etc.), search directly in the library's catalog here.

Journal articles are found by searching in the library's databases.

These are the best databases at Methodist College to find articles on nursing topics.

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.

Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
CINAHL Complete
"This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. "
ClinicalKey for Nursing
"ClinicalKey brings nursing monographs, practice guidelines and core measures with nursing recommendations."

"ClinicalKey is the clinical search engine that thinks and works the way you do by adapting to your schedule, workflow preferences and information needs, making it easier for you to find and apply relevant knowledge quickly."
EBM Reviews Full Text - Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, and DARE
Combines several of the most trusted Evidence-Based Medicine resources into a single, fully-searchable database.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
"This resource provides 600 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong."
Journals@Ovid
"LWW Health Library provides a singular access point to clinical and educational content, as well as rich multimedia ancillaries for teaching, learning, and practice. In addition to health science schools and hospitals, these resources are a must-have for related educational, residency, and fellowship programs - ensuring you have the resources you need to effectively support curriculum for your students' and residents' foundational learning, and clinical practice needs."
Medline (Ebsco Platform)
"The world’s leading bibliographic source for biomedical scholarly literature and research—with easy linking to full-text journals."
Nursing Reference Center Plus
PsycINFO
"Centered on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. This ever-expanding collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts offers a broad view of the field. With relevance to a host of related disciplines, including neuroscience, business, nursing, law, and education, PsycINFO delivers the peer-reviewed content and abstracts students and researchers need."

From off-campus, you will need to log in using your Methodist College login and password. See the instructions at https://library.methodistcol.edu/resources/campus-access

If you need help, please contact the library at 309-671-2940

Mental Health Nursing: Articles

Articles are an excellent source for

Current information and news

Commentary and opinion

general and/or specific information

Scholarly research

Each article type has its strengths and weaknesses depending on your information need.

Library databases like when you search with keywords but subject terms are an even better search. Subject terms are the way libraries tag their sources so that like item can be collected together. There are two main subject heading styles for nursing and medicine: MeSH and CINAHL.

The term used for mental health nursing in MeSH and CINAHL is "Psychiatric Nursing"

The Methodist College Library has online access to hundreds of ejournals focused on mental health.

To get started with your research, Use the Discovery Tool to search all the library's catalog and databases in one search box and results list. Find books, ebooks, journal articles, streaming videos, DVDs, and more.

The Discovery Tool does not offer as many filters for deep research so is a good starting place before searching in more specific databases.

The library has a great collection of ebooks both for academic and pleasure reading. The full list of ebook collections is available here.

To search for physical items in the library's collection (books, DVDs, etc.), search directly in the library's catalog here.

Journal articles are found by searching in the library's databases.

These are the best databases at Methodist College to find articles on nursing topics.

From off-campus, you will need to log in using your Methodist College login and password. See the instructions at https://library.methodistcol.edu/resources/campus-access

If you need help, please contact the library at 309-671-2940